Senate Standing Committee on Environment and Communications

Answers to Senate Estimates Questions on Notice

Supplementary Budget Estimates Hearings October 2016

Communications Portfolio

Department of Communications and the Arts

Ouestion No: 5

Program 1.1

Hansard Ref: Page 13-14, 18/10/2016

Topic: External advisory group - composition

Senator O'Neill, Deborah asked:

Senator O'NEILL: Dr Smith, at the end of your evidence there, this external advisory body, could you give me a bit more of an understanding of its role, who constitutes that and why you consider at core business?

Dr Smith: It comprises of people from other departments across government as well as some external representatives. I do not have the exact numbers and names, but we can provide those to you.

Senator O'NEILL: Later today?

Dr Smith: Yes.

Senator O'NEILL: Thank you.

Answer:

The membership of the Bureau of Communications Research (BCR) Advisory Committee as at November 2016 is:

Dr Heather Smith (Chair), Department of Communications and the Arts

Mr Ian Robinson, Department of Communications and the Arts

Ms Leonie Holloway, Department of Communications and the Arts

Ms Megan Brownlow, PricewaterhouseCoopers

Professor Hugh Durrant-Whyte, University of Sydney

Ms Lisa Gropp, Business Council of Australia

Dr Tony Warren, Telstra

Mr Luke Yeaman, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Ms Jacky Hodges, Australian Bureau of Statistics

Ms Jenny Wilkinson, Department of the Treasury

Mr David Parker, Department of Agriculture and Water Resources

Dr Tim Bradley, Department of Industry, Innovation and Science

Ms Nina Davidson, Productivity Commission

The Committee assists the Department to develop and refine the BCR's evolving public policy research focus and provides a forum to review the BCR's published output.